Recurring Theme

I connect with kids on a different level than most of the population. I don’t know if there are words to describe what I am trying to describe.

I have always had a unique connection with kids but yesterday was the first time that I actually acknowledged it in the moment. I have not seen my littlest cousin in a few weeks but I saw him yesterday. He is at the age where everything he does is adorable; he pronounces his words in such a manner that it melts my heart.

Yesterday my littlest cousin and I were having a serious conversation lying in the grass looking at the clouds. My littlest cousin is five so he has a ton of stuff to talk about- everyday for him is an adventure. He told me about his last day of school, as it was a Jurassic venture, which actually was spent on the playground with his friends.

I always like to ask kids what they want to be when they grow up. I think it is important for kids to think about that but it is mostly because I do not remember anyone asking me that question. Last time I asked him that question he told me he wanted to be Diego, which I interpreted that as he wanted to be an actor.

I used to ask him and his brothers that question weekly because I used to see them so much more. Since moving to school, I have less time and I live farther away. I know that I defiantly miss them a lot because I used to see them every few days. I do Skype with them as often as possible because they are such a huge part of my life and they make me happy.

I have never had a problem being physically close to my little cousins. I actually love being close to them and they enjoy being close to me. Whenever I sleep over their house, I always end up with one of the boys in my bed. The littlest one always finds a way to hold my hand when I am sleeping and he actually thinks it is funny when he wakes up because he never remembers doing it.

Back to that question, so yesterday when I asked my littlest cousin what he wanted to be when he grows up he said that he wants to be like me. It was defiantly a really awesome moment which seems to be a recurring theme in my life these days which I think is awesome :)

4 thoughts on “Recurring Theme

Leave a Reply

