Life- part II

Lately, I have been writing all these posts about how great my experience at college is and how thankful I am to be here.  But the truth is the past week my transition here has gotten harder. I guess its because the first week or so is just fluff. Everyone wants to be your friend and there are no exams.

But that times is over and I’m starting to realize who my real friends are here at school. I am able to get really close to some of the people in my residence hall and it’s really nice to come home and just lay around and study with them. It is just so positive here and its very support.  The girls in my house all seem to congregate in my room they refer to my room as the “living room”. I guess because it is so peaceful and all the colors are very calming.

My classes are all good but I am not used to very large lecture halls. I was planning to not get testing accommodations because I didn’t want the university to be aware of my mental health issues.  But today I got really nervous about my exam later in the week.  I’m not sure if it was nerves because it felt like my paranoid alter was very close. So I decided that I’m going to get accommodations.

I always felt so against getting them because I don’t want to feel like I’m different because of my mental health stuff. But let’s face it I am different and I need to do whatever will benefit me in the area of testing.

Being at this large university, I am learning that there are so many different kinds of people. And college is difficult for people who are an only so I think I’m doing an okay job adjusting. I do have days that I’m just extremely overwhelmed and I get to go back to my cozy little dorm room. There I am surrounded by people who feel exactly like I do and we all support each other on this journey.

2 thoughts on “Life- part II

  1. I’m a fellow trauma survivor who is currently researching trauma blogs. I’d like to use your blog in my research. I was unable to find your email address on your site. Would you mind emailing me with contact info so that I can tell you more about my research? Best, Cat

Leave a Reply

