Guest post:DID Friendships

Hello all. My name is Splintersdones and Hope has invited me to write a guest blog about friendships between people with DID. I at first thought this would be a piece of cake. As a DID’er myself I have made many friends here. For me I feel a very strong bond to my DID peeps. Let’s face it, it’s a pretty weird existence to have people living in you. Who can pop up at any moment, who often are influencing us even when you’re not aware of it. There are as many forms of dissociation, like snowflakes. But the condition of being dissociated out is a relatively similar experience for us all.

Having DID makes for a very complex life. It’s hard to continually keep things in check. Chaos can pop up in an instant and we can’t always control it.

People with DID are really the only ones who know what it’s like. This is I think why I have such tight bonds w/my fellows. They know.

At the same time we are a rather suspicious lot. We have lived our entire lives in hiding and we are masters of disguise. So it’s hard sometimes to know if a friend is coming from, “who” they are at a given moment. I have allowed a few alters out, a few have popped out unannounced (never fun). And often I am in this weird co-conscious place it seems all he’ll will break loose but it never does.

I also spend slots of time just…floating. As I get to know a fellow plural I come to be able to sense where they are, who they are. But mostly it’s just a guess. And I suppose they feel the same about me pretty much.

I love that others know the essence of what I go thru in my day-to-day. But I also feel a strong need to not trigger anybody. For nothing sets my alters going like spottkng another. They get attracted to it like white on rice.

I have a few friends with whom I will share specifics. But not too many. I don’t really know why, at this point it is just habit of obfuscation I suppose. I would love for my dissociated buddies think.

4 thoughts on “Guest post:DID Friendships

  1. Yes, we are a suspicious lot. That made me smile. But, I agree, it’s nice to have others understand how we feel without thinking we’re weird or insane. My friends keep me believing there is a way to live with DID. The operative word being LIVE. Great Post!

  2. I appreciate you being willing to share your experience so those of us who don’t know what it is like to be in your shoes can gain some insight!

    – Marie (Coming Out of the Trees)

Leave a Reply

