100 Miles To Hold My Hand

This journey of recovery is the most terrifying thing I have ever done. I have learned so many things. However, I think the most important thing is that I learned is that I do have friends and people who support me.

Recovery is hard and sometimes feels useless, but many people feel the same way as I do.

I think the real question to ask ourselves is “who told you life wasn’t worth the fight? They were wrong, they lied.”

Life is not always fair and hurts. We may feel like we are all alone at times but the truth is that we are never truly alone.

The greatest act of love I have ever received was one, which I will never forget. The only person who truly gets me lives 100 miles away. It is so hard living so far away from her.

My best friend Joy drove 100 miles at 1am to hold my hand.

I do not have to be alone with my feelings. I am allowed to feel and have self-care.

Rescue is possible and there are angels all around us.

My friend Joy is a true angel.

13 thoughts on “100 Miles To Hold My Hand

  1. What a beautiful post. You are very fortunate to have a friend like Joy. What a wonderful person she is. And yes, the umbrella is a great feeling.

    I’m curious, does she know about your DID? If she does, are you able to tell her about the part who likes to cut off communication?

    • Thanks, She does know about my DID, she has DID too. We are both very different almost opposite. We do tell her about parts who like to cut off communication. We feel bad that we cause her hurt when we isolate. We are learning how to be a friend.

  2. I’m so glad you have a friend like Joy. That WAS an act of an angel! You so deserve that. I really liked your quote about life being worth the fight. Some days, I really have to remember that.

    I want to let you know I finally got a link up to you on my sidebar. Sorry I’m so slow. Also, I am forwarding on a submission you sent in a couple of months ago for THE BLOG CARNIVAL AGAINST CHILD ABUSE to our host for January–Paul at Mind Parts. If you have anything more current you want to send in, too, we’d love to have it included!

    • Thanks, the quote is from the Rascal Flatts song “Why”. But I always tell myself that when I feel like I can’t go on anymore.

      Thanks, for the link & the forward of THE BLOG CARNIVAL AGAINST CHILD ABUSE submission. Take Care.

  3. Hope,
    I love you, and will always drive 100 miles at 1am to hold your hand. “A friend in need is a friend indeed.” ~Proverb

    We are BOTH very fortunate to have each other’s friendship. Whether it’s 1am hospital runs, my actual-life episodes of Intervention/Hoarders, cooking up a storm in our real-life cafe’, or hitting up Pizza Hut when we’re too lazy to cook. I know I am very blessed to have you in my life. We have a beautiful, multi-faceted friendship and I am so grateful.

    Love you,
    Joy et al. ;)

    • I am so grateful for our friendship even though its complicated. I think we have a deeper friendship because of our complicatedness. I know that I can’t change the past but I am so sorry for hurting you.

      And I know sorry doesn’t mean anything. But like you said, your “just waiting for us to cut off communication again.” But, I can only control what I can.

      Take Care

Leave a Reply

